Friday, June 5, 2009

Facts about the Continent of AFRICA

- The Continent of Africa encompasses 11,717,218 square miles.
- Its highest point is Mt. Kilimanjaro in Tanzania, at 19,340 feet above sea level.
- Its lowest point is Lake Assal in Djibouti, at 515 feet below sea level.
- Africa's approximate population in 2002 was 826,835,000.
- Africa is the Second Largest Continent and has vast natural resources such as gold, diamonds, and copper.
- It consists of 53 Countries; some are landlocked with no access to the sea except through other countries.
- It is bounded on the North by the Mediterranean Sea, on the West by the Atlantic Ocean, on the Northeast by the Red Sea, and on the Southeast by the Indian Ocean.
- The Longest River in Africa is the Nile, which runs from Burundi to Egypt for 4,145 miles.
- The Largest lake is Lake Victoria (26,724 square miles), which lies between Tanzania, Kenya and Uganda.
- Africa's climate and elevation variations result in a great variety of landscapes and physical features.
- The Sahara Desert in the north extends from east to west across the continent whereas two of the world's greatest rivers — the Nile and the Congo — flow through Africa.
- The Great Rift Valley is a geological feature which extends from Jordan all the way south to Mozambique.
- The Kalahari Desert in the south, the Atlas Mountains in the northwest and mountain ranges near the Great Rift Valley in the east all contribute to Africa's varied topography.
- The Largest City in Africa is Lagos, Nigeria; other leading African cities include Cairo, Johannesburg, Tunisia, and Kinshasa.
- The Largest Country in Africa is Sudan.

Important Slavery Timeline:-
1502: 1st reported African slaves in the New World
1791: Haitian slave uprising
1820: U.S. law makes slave trading piracy, punishable by death
1831: A large-scale slave revolt in Jamaica
1833: Britain passes the Abolition of Slavery Act.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts with Thumbnails