Thursday, April 28, 2011

ACN wins in Lagos, Ogun, Oyo and Ekiti States

ACN takes over southwest

The People's Democratic Party was roundly defeated in the southwest, losing its last two strongholds in Oyo and Ogun states. Many members of the party did not make it back to the state assemblies in the southwest also, even though they were in the majority in most of the states going into the polls.

The Action Congress of Nigeria, which has increasingly positioned itself as a potent force in the southwest, pushed its leverage in the region further, claiming vital victories in Ogun and Oyo states which had remained under the PDP. The resurgence of the Congress for Progressive Change also fizzled out, with the party winning just one state from results released.

In the six-state region, only Ondo State is in the hands of a party that is not ACN, and that is the Labour Party. The party consolidated its win in Lagos state, where it polled 1,509,113 votes to beat the PDP which had only 300,450 votes. In Ogun State, benefitting from a split between incumbent governor, Gbenga Daniel and former president Olusegun Obasanjo, the ACN cruised to victory. In Oyo State, the ACN won with a slim margin that was enough to defeat incumbent governor, Adebayo Alao-Akala of the PDP. Mr Akala polled 367,839 behind ACN candidate Abiola Ajimobi's 373,472.

Mr Akala's defeat is one of four cases where incumbents were pushed out. Nasarawa State, for instance, which for years had been a PDP stronghold, turned out to be the only state won by the CPC. The incumbent, Aliyu Doma, got 320,938 while Umaru Al-Makura of the CPC polled a huge 324,823 to emerge the winner. Some of the most outstanding surprises were in Imo and Delta states where PDP incumbents Ihedi Ohakim and Emmanuel Uduaghan, slipped against opposition parties that were not regarded as major contenders in their states.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts with Thumbnails